Geological Society of India Bangalore

NOMINATIONS FOR THE AWARDS - 2006

Nominations are invited by the Geological Society of India for the year 2006 for the following awards and prizes. Fellows of the Society can send nominations so as to reach the Secretary by 30th June 2006.

- L. Rama Rao Birth Centenary Award for the significant contribution to Indian Stratigraphy and/or Palaeontology.
- S. Narayanaswami Award for contributions in the field of Economic Geology.
- M.R. Srinivasa Rao Award for outstanding contributions in the field of Petrology.
- **JGSI-Radhakrishna Prize** for the best paper published in the Journal of the Geological Society of India during the year 2005.
- **S.S. Merh Award** for the significant contributions in the field of Quaternary Geology.
- **K. Naha Award** for significant contributions in the field of Structural Geology, Metamorphic Petrology or Precambrian Geology.
- H.S. Pareek Award for the best paper published in the Journal of the Geological Society of India in Coal Sciences during the year 2005.
- N.N. Chatterjee Award for contributions in the field of Energy Resources.

Fellows are requested to furnish the following information while making the nominations:

- 1. Name of the Award
- 2. Full name, age and address of the nominee
- 3. Qualifications and positions held by the nominee
- 4. List of significant publications and
- 5. Brief statement by the proposer (not more than 300 words) about the scientific achievements of the nominee to justify the award.

R.H. SAWKAR Secretary