874 NOTES

Science Congress. In his speech the President emphasized upon "India has to give the highest priority for science in providing resources, evolving good science teachers and evolving world class research institutions in the country". The President gave away the Young Scientist awards. The President inaugurated the International Year of Planet Earth by releasing a balloon depicting the logos of the focal theme as well as IYPE. The Children's Science Congress, which attracted students from various parts of the country, was inaugurated by the President.

The scientific program of the Science Congress was designed into three major categories: Public lectures, 21 Theme sessions related to Focal theme and 14 parallel sectional activities encompassing all branches of science. Public lectures were delivered by two Nobel

Laureates and seven eminent scientists of international repute.

The Honorable Prime Minister gave away ISCA and General President Awards to distinguished scientists. Dr. B.P. Radhakrishna was conferred with the Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary Award for his outstanding contributions to Earth Sciences. Sri R.H. Sawkar received this award on his behalf.

Further details of the 94th Science Congress are available at ww.sciencecongress.org and www.annamalauniversity. ac.in/isca.

National Geophysical Research Institute Hyderabad

R.K. Chadha, D. Srinagesh, A. Manglik and K. Sain

RECENT DEVELOPMENTS IN TECHNIQUES TO CONSTRAIN PETROGENESIS OF IGNEOUS ROCKS

As a part of University of Calcutta, post-Centenary Golden Jubilee celebration, the Department of Geology, University of Calcutta had organized a National workshop cum training programme on "Recent Developments in Techniques to Constrain Petrogenesis of Igneous Rocks" from 26th December 2006 to 8th January 2007. The objective of this workshop was to train and interact with young researchers/teachers who were interested to build up their career in igneous petrology.

Prof. Asis Kumar Banerjee, Vice-Chancellor, University of Calcutta, formally inaugurated the workshop on 26th December 2006. Prof. P.N. Ghosh, Department of Physics, University of Calcutta explained the objectives of the Post-Centenary Golden Jubilee celebration and highlighted the glorious role of the Department of Geology, University of Calcutta, in propagating the knowledge of geological sciences in our country since long. Prof. D.J. Chattopadhyay, Dean of Sciences, University of Calcutta, appreciated the Department of Geology for organizing this workshop. Prof. Mihir K. Bose, Padmashree A.B. Dasgupta, Prof. D. Mukhopadhyay and Prof. A.K. Ghosh graced the

inaugural function.

Various fundamental and recent aspects of several sub-disciplines of igneous petrology were adequately covered through theoretical class-lectures and laboratory sessions. Prof. Mihir K. Bose, Prof. Somanath Dasgupta, Dr. Abhinaba Roy, Dr. Balaram Chattopadhyay, Dr. B.K. Chakraborti, Dr. M.M. Mukherjee, Jyotisankar Ray and Dr. Manoj Maitra delivered lectures on topics related to their relevant specialization. Certificates were handed over to each participant during the concluding session. It was resolved that similar workshop-cum-training program on igneous petrology will be organized by this Department with the help of national funding agencies in near future to fulfill the need of the young teachers/ researchers engaged in igneous petrology.

Dept. of Geology, Univ. of Calcutta, 35 Ballygunge Circular Road, Kolkata – 700 019

Email: jsray65@hotmail.com

JYOTISANKAR RAY

Printed by M. Nagaraju and published by Fareeduddin on behalf of the Geological Society of India, 63, 12th Cross, Basappa Layout, Gavipuram Extension, Bangalore - 560 019 and Printed at Pragati Graphics, No.25, 1st Main Road, 2nd Street, Vivekanandanagar, B.S.K. III Stage, Bangalore - 560 085 and published at Bangalore - Editor: Fareeduddin.